The Grand Bazaar, Urumqi

One of two sites recommended in Lonely Planet, The Grand Bazaar is one of those places you check out for the sake of checking it out. This is especially so for someone who doesn’t enjoy shopping, much less haggling for goods.

When I got off the bus at ErDaoQiao, I stood under a flyover and didn’t know where to go.

image

Was grateful when an Uigher lady from my bus pointed me in the right direction when she saw me looking lost.

image

For future explorers – look out for the above!

Anyway, the bazaar was quite nice to browse even though I had no intention of buying anything.

image

Felt a little like Morocco all over again (but here I can converse with the shopkeepers in a common language!)

You can get lots and lots of raisins, goji/wolfberries and dates here. (Although I bought mine in a supermarket at a fixed price because I suck at haggling).

This entry was posted in China, Xinjiang and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

