book buying dilemma!

it’s a good dilemma to have. I’ve been contemplating a birthday present for myself, and i’m torn between the following two books

Philosophy_of_Walking_300_CMYK-8cee85e10187dd95025726a613451c53

A Philosophy of Walking by Frederic Gros

or

Wanderlust by Rebecca Solnit

Wanderlust-frontcover-ead36951d79129b0acefcabb1d8758b6

Right now, my preferences tend toward Gros, mainly because I had the opportunity to skim some pages at the local Kinokuniya, whereas I only came across Solnit while reading reviews of Gros.

Alternatively, I could choose to buy neither, because I know my colleagues have chipped in to purchase a book for my birthday – it’s either gonna be the latest Murakami Haruki or a title from the Man Booker shortlist.

After all, why read a book about walking when you could just…walk? I’m gonna trail through my computer in search of photographs taken on walks and share them here.

This entry was posted in Singapore and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to book buying dilemma!

  1. conwald says:

    I’ve not read the former (though it’s somewhere on my list of books to read), but I’ve read Solnit’s and really recommend it. In any case, both are available at the NLB, so regardless of which one you go for, you’ll probably be able to get your hands on the other anyway. Hope that has helped… and that you have a good birthday.

    Like

  2. Pingback: book buying dilemma update | cutting the map

Leave a Reply

